Brief Introduction
PDF version

The Department of Pharmacology and Pharmacognosy was established as a section of the then Department of Pharmacy in 1974, becoming a fully fledged department in 1994 when the Department of Pharmacy transformed into the Faculty of Pharmacy.

The Department of Pharmacology and Pharmacognosy is now one of the three departments within the School of Pharmacy, University of Nairobi. The Department has two sections i.e. Pharmacology and Pharmacognosy.

Over the years the Department has evolved and grown, presently consisting of 16 members of academic staff with diverse areas of specialization. These are as follows:  (3) Professors, (1) Associate Professor, (5) Senior Lecturers (6) lecturers and (1) tutorial fellows. In addition, the Department has a team of technical staff comprising of (1) Principal technologist, (1) Chief technologist, (2) Senior technologists and one technologist.  Other staffs include a department secretary, (1) Junior Technologist, two animal attendants and (1) messenger.